Posted by: Michel Baker | February 2, 2011

Kindergarten Revelations

Carol Gaab has always said that if you can teach Kindergarten TPRS, you can teach any age group.  I find that teaching Kindergarten is the most challenging because you have to keep them engaged.  Carol probably already told us most of these things, but here are a couple of tips that I have finally been able to grasp:

1.  TPR beforehand all of the words you will need to “Circle in.”  There can be no surprises during Storyasking or there will be distractions galore!

2.  Go ahead and write out your TPR script so that you are not thinking on your feet.  A delay that lasts for even one second can immediately lead to verbal and physical chaos among these little students.

3.  Employ Carol Gaab’s Managed Response to prevent verbal chaos from the students when you are asking Circling questions.  After a while, they get used to using this.  Check Carol’s Webinars for details at www.tprstorytelling.com

4.  Use only 2 locations in your story.  Even the strongest Kindergartener simply can not stay focused as long as older students.

5.  Make sure each actor is wearing at least a mask or some sort of costume.  Students need that visual in order to link meaning.

6.  Shorten your structures to contain only one new word, mixing it with a cognate, if you must.  In other words, with Kindergarten I no longer target “le da la comida [gives him/her/it the food],” but rather “le da la pizza [gives him/her/it the pizza].”

7.  During Storyasking, have them acting out each word that we have previously targeted during TPR time.

8.  At first, do less Story”asking” and more Story”telling.”

9.  Get near the students and look at them in the eye and speak directly to them while Storyasking/telling.

10.  Show patience, go SLOW and be persistent!
What would you add to this?  Your thoughts are  much appreciated!


Responses

  1. These are excellent suggestions! I see the efficacy of these strategies with older kids, too. (One of my grades is 4th). Thank you for posting this list, Michel.

  2. Thanks Michel for sharing. These are great suggestions.

  3. One trick that works for me in Kindergarten is to draw the story as it unfolds.
    I use a portable erasable white board, and sometimes will start class with a very much simplified version of “one word image” (Ben Slavic). Example: I’ll outline a snowman and let the children add the details. As I ask the “wh”-questions, the children give me cute answers that I draw onto the snowman . What does he eat? Is it hot? cold? raining? What does he wear? Where does he live?… adding as many details as possible. I may draw a second snowman and go through the same process, a bit faster. We can compare the two stories. I use many different colors to keep their attention. I may even ask what color I should use? Sometimes I let a student help me draw. I “quiz” them on the stories, to assess their understanding.I can then hand them each an erasable plastic sheet with an erasable marker and let them each draw as I describe (or ask) yet another snowman. This allows for even extra repetition. I hand them a sock to erase, and to allow for even more reps, tell them exactly what to erase.
    Still trying to figure it all out. It’s a work in process…Catharina

  4. Hi, Catharina! This hits the nail right on the head with Kindergarten, and I so appreciate this. I had recently begun to notice that unless there is a visual (mask, prop, costume, gesture, etc.) of some sort at all times, they really have trouble following things and I end up beating myself to death to keep them focused. No wonder Carol Gaab has always said to use props. I can not wait to try this on them. Thank you so much for sharing it!

  5. Thanks Michel. These suggestions help us keep on track!
    And that is an excellent idea Catharina! I will definitely be using it. I know the kids are going to love it. Thank you so much for that. Conceptualising with older kids is much easier than with younger kids who have not completed that stage in their development. Going through all that stages of TPRS with kindergarten aged kids is serious brain sport figuring out ways to keep them interested with activities that are at their level and not too difficult. I have been using the video projector with sound effects to the stories because I realised that the kids are MUCH more attentive than when I use A4 sized story cards. We’re getting the hang of this as we go along. Thanks for posting.


Leave a comment

Categories